Finally!

Image result for woohoo

A while back, I wrote about a piece I was just starting. I believe I even claimed it would be really cool. (read that post here)  Well, it’s finished. Finally. It’s been on my bench for about 6 months. Part of the reason it took so long was that I ended up needing to alter my plan. So it definitely does NOT look the way I had originally envisioned.

The jury is still out on whether this design is actually better than the original. Though, really, it doesn’t matter since the way it started couldn’t work. Want to know WHY it wouldn’t work? (you’re desperate to know, aren’t you?) Fine. You twisted my arm. I’ll tell you.

So. In my head, when I began planning this piece, I had intended for the two floral pieces to be touching in the middle, and to just finish the piece with some large chain and a clasp.

But… the spider web piece had other things in mind. With the way the web holes are, combined with the pattern on the floral pieces (which determined hole placement in those pieces) things didn’t line up the way I wanted. They were either going to be overlapping in the middle, or spaced farther apart. For what I hope are obvious reasons, I went with farther apart. Unfortunately, that spacing made the piece less stable, so it needed more base structure.

This is where I stopped for a few months. It’s really hard, when you have a solid plan in your head, that you think is going to turn out really well, it can be hard to switch gears. So, I put it down on my bench. I would pick it up from time to time, thinking how it still looked really cool, and was going to be an awesome piece when it was done. But then I would put it back down and do something else.

I’ve been in a funk for a while, struggling to create. That’s usually when I reach for my startedbutnotfinished pile. (anyone else have eleventy-seven unfinished projects to choose from?) So, a few weeks ago, I decided IT. WAS. TIME. I narrowed down my options to two. Either black leather, or a copper cuff. So I took some pictures. Posted them on Instagram. Got good reactions to both.

    Black Leather Base
Copper Cuff Base

 

And then I didn’t finish it.

I know, I know!!! Pathetic, right?

Image result for facepalm

Since then, my funk got a little bit funky. I would walk into my “workshop” (it’s a closet, remember?) and basically walk back out again. But yesterday, I had the day off work, and I went down and just got to work on the cuff. I had to improvise a little on drilling the copper cuff.

That is a dowel, plus a bunch of scrap leather stuffed inside the cuff to hold the dowel tight (enough) against the cuff. 

Thankfully it worked really well, and before I knew it, the whole thing was finished.

img_20170224_140016034

 

And it’s fabulous. Don’t you think?

This piece (and everything else!) is for sale over at Facebook. And please follow me on Instagram, Pinterest, and Twitter!

 

Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Finally!”

Leave a Reply

