Bring it on, 2016

download (19)

Last January, I wrote a post about my goals for 2015 (read it here). I figured now was a good time to reflect and look ahead. So that’s what we’re going to do.

As a person who stinks at follow-through, I gotta say, I feel pretty darned good about how this last year went, as far as jewelry making went. I most definitely had some ups and downs in the level of my effort and commitment, but I definitely spent more time focused on getting where I want to go. I feel like I made a lot of progress. Not so much on actual makering techniques, though there was some of that. But more on the whole business side of things. Let me tell ya, the amount of time making the jewelry takes a lot less time than everything else does, once you finished making the piece. And that’s where I struggle. But this year I did better.

The Build a Line Challenge offered by bsueboutiques.com was AMAZING. I learned so much. It’s being held again, and while I’m not participating, I definitely plan to follow along. I probably drove them all nuts with my constant stream of questions, but there was just so much to learn, and I knew that I had a lot of holes that needed to be filled in.

I believe I sold 8 things on Etsy this year. Not as many as I would have liked, but definitely more than my first year. I am hoping that that means that when I get my act together, and really get active on there, that I will be successful. I created an inventory, and keeping track of everything on there was interesting. I think I still have some kinks to work out there, but at least it’s a start, and a big step in the right direction. Keeping track of everything, including whether it is listed on Etsy, and all that jazz, takes a lot of time. It’s not just doing the things. It’s thinking about the things, deciding when and where to do the things, and, most importantly, why you are doing the things. Moving with purpose. It has been a big change for me to not just go through the movements, but to decide which movements suit me and my product, and what will help get me where I want to go. I have made an effort to not just buy a component because it’s cool, or try out a design because I saw something that I thought was fascinating. If it doesn’t fit into what I want my product to be, I don’t make it. Except every once in a while I play. Because I need to. But my makering is so much more focused.

I had a few months that were very frustrating as far as sales. I strongly considered being done with jewelry making. There are a LOT of jewelry makers out there, so it’s a brutal market. So I have spent a lot of time thinking, and pondering, and considering. I really like making jewelry. But really, I just like making. I don’t have the artist gene. But I have the good-with-tools gene. And the desire to create. For now, that means jewelry. And, thankfully, I ended the year with a very strong show, and I think some of the crowd will be looking for me at future events. That feels pretty darned good. So I will be continuing to make jewelry.

And that means buckling down hard. While I made progress with staying focused and getting more of the business pieces in place, I still have a long way to go. Here are my jewelry making goals for this year:

  • designate specific time each day/week for specific tasks
  • have way more things listed on Etsy
  • 2 (or more) vendor events
  • research so my product reflects what people want
  • work out an efficient inventory system, then use it.

So, basically, be more business-y.

I have personal goals, too, of course. And another sort of business-y effort on the side.

I want to do a quick plug for the Passion Planner12331376_1504055689890030_42941538_nI used it this last year, and really loved it. So I got another for this year. And it’s bigger, and pretty, and makes me super duper happy. If you want something to help you set goals, and stay on top of everything, this is, no joke, the best planner for the job. I have been dissatisfied with every planner I have encountered over the years. And, as a disorganized person, a planner is really important in my life.

Anyway, thanks for stopping by. I wish you all the very best in 2016!

 

Follow me on Facebook, Etsy, Pinterest, Twitter, and Instagram!

One thought on “Bring it on, 2016”

  1. Great blog, Lori, keep going and with lots of hard work and determination, all your dreams will come true. Be sure to post about the Passion Planner on the BALC alumni and if you want to let us know where we could get one, I think many would do that….ME INCLUDED! THANKS!

    Like

Leave a Reply

