Going All In

download (17)

So. I have been making jewelry (and other things) for several years now. I have never really been successful at it. Every once in a while, it seems to pick up, and then it falls back down again. Things have gradually increased overall, though, which is great. But I’m really not where I feel I should, or at least COULD, be by now. I am set up in the most supportive way possible, with a husband that keeps pushing and helping me. He has never once questioned whether this was a good idea, even though I have soooo many times over the years. My friends and family are amazing supporters, too. So, really, it’s just me standing in my own way.

He bought me a jigsaw. Seriously.
He bought me a jigsaw. Seriously.

I just received an email inviting me to two upcoming events in my new “hometown.” One at the end of the summer, and one this fall. Initially, I was excited. And then I had the “Why bother?” moment. I rarely do well at these events. But… And this is a BIG but… My work has always been a mish-mash of pieces. I’ve never buckled down and focused on one style. And now, thanks in large part to Brenda’s B’SueBoutiques challenge class this winter, I feel like I am moving closer to where I want to be. My pieces still aren’t totally uniform, but they aren’t as all-over-the-place either.

And I’ve been working on removing the excess old pieces that don’t fit what I’m making now. (Have you checked out my clearance event on Facebook?) I really have too much inventory.

Okay, back to the email… I decided that I am going to push myself to list more on Facebook and Etsy (especially Etsy), be more consistent with promotion/social media, and give these events a try. If, after all that, things haven’t improved, I might be calling it quits. *deep breath* It’s not for sure. At the very least, I will re-evaluate what I have done, what worked, what didn’t, and then see where that leaves me. But I need to make big changes. I’m sure I’ll fall off the motivation wagon, as I always seem to, but I’m going to give it my best shot. (feel free to nudge me!)

I have some other projects that I have been neglecting (not to mention the kids and all that jazz) so it’s going to be interesting trying to juggle it all. I am pretty sure the extra stuff going on will be beneficial though. I am always more motivated and organized when I have more going at once. The less busy I am, the less productive.

So… Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Going All In”

  1. Lori, I don’t know if you saw this article….but the information in it is some of the best I have seen to break down things about the marketing and business end that seem to be an enigma. https://www.etsy.com/seller-handbook/article/12-ways-to-get-a-jumpstart-on-the/22452268884 I would sincerely recommend that you knuckle down, make a business plan, make sure of what it is that you want to make and define your market and that there is a market for it, and then dig in with both heels. You CAN make it work, you have a lot of time into this and a lot of money. But ALL of the work has to be done. Consider what you have done up til now your education. From here on out, consider what you will do as the true start of your business. Map out a plan, stick to a schedule, make new things and load them to your Etsy constantly and….about shows: don’t dream you are going to find all the plum shows right out of the gate. You have to do some dogs to find out about the good ones and also, just for the sheer experience of them. There is always something good about a show, even a show where you hardly cover your booth. You learn something new about a good display. You learn about talking to people. You network with other artisans. You meet people who might want to carry some jewelry you make in their boutique store or get a custom job that leads to a good business relationship. You’ve barely gotten started yet. If you love making jewelry, then quitting shouldn’t even enter your mind. You’ve just got to do the work of getting yourself out there. Be persistent….it takes time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Brenda! I appreciate the advice. Shows are tougher now, being in a new area I don’t have any idea which ones will be good, so it’s all trial and error. And this area isn’t a fan of handmade I have discovered. But I’m trying new things, and seeing where it takes me. =)

      Like

Leave a Reply

