Friends (a non-jewelry post)

A few months ago… I made a decision. Here’s the shake-down:

Most people think of me as pretty outgoing and all that, but I’m really a chicken at heart. I tend to assume people would prefer to avoid me. Even family and my closest friends. So this decision, while it may seem small, was actually a pretty big deal. And I still battle with myself. Every. Time.

Do any of you ever have someone, usually from your past, that pops into your head? Just a random memory or thought about that person? Well, I sure do. I think it comes from having too much time on my hands…

A few months ago I had one of those moments. So I decided that maybe there was a reason I was thinking of that random person at that moment, so maybe I should DO something about it. Crazy, right? I started sending a quick “Hi, how ya doin’?” message when I had the chnace. And thanks to the wonderful world of Facebook, I can do it without being super-intrusive (read:passive-aggressive)

It’s kind of awesome. I have had conversations with people that I would have missed out on otherwise. It doesn’t inspire huge transformations in my friendships with these people, some of which are really just acquaintances. But it does what Facebook is intended to do (more or less) It re-connects me with people. I get to catch up with them, learn a little bit about how they are, right now in this moment in their life.

I wish more people would listen to that inner voice telling them to reach out to someone (like me!). There have been a few times that the person I reached out to had really needed to be contacted that day. They needed to know someone was thinking about them, that they are significant. And that feels really good for both of our hearts. So consider that the person you are thinking of today might really need you to just say hello.

Which reminds me… I need to write more letters. That’s even BETTER. Who doesn’t love snail mail?

Talk to you soon, friends. (hint hint)

PS: I apologize for this interruption in the regular jewelry-focused programming. I know you all are so enthralled by my *cough* regular and frequent *cough*cough* posts, but I hope you don’t mind this little detour.

Much love, Friends, much love.

Leave a Reply

