Slight Success

So, obviously, the season of Lent has ended. And therefore my three challenges have ended. I had very mixed results.

I wasn’t particularly successful at clearing things out, though I have a specific plan for the next few weeks now that life will (hopefully) calm down a smidge. And I did get a few things removed and tagged as “no longer needed in this house.” So not a total fail. Or maybe I’m just digging for the smallest feeling of success rather than failure. That’s possible. 

I did really well with my “NO EATING BETWEEN MEALS” bit. It stunk. Boy howdy did it stink. But I really did a pretty good job of sticking to it. I did drink some punch one afternoon at a 1yo’s birthday party. But considering they had an entire meal set out as well as cake, cupcakes, and cakepops, I think just drinking a bit of punch is pretty darn good. And there were two evenings (in a row) (at the end) (when my husband was out of town and I was really sad and stressed) when I just lost my mind. But other than that… Hmm. Okay. So maybe I didn’t do as well as I thought. *sigh* Oh well. 

I started off really well on the jewelry making bit. Which was the main focus, at least as far as this whole jewelry blog thing is concerned. I completed several pieces, many of which were earrings. So overall, it was a big success. I no longer feel panicky when I head down to the dungeon (aka: The B. Hive) And really that was the main goal for me. To get back in the game, lose the stress, and re-find the joy. And I really did take some huge steps in the right direction. And I got to take a cool soldering class in there, too. 

I did, however, hit a couple of snags with that third challenge. The first was that with my initial push to complete at least one thing each day, some of what I was making really wasn’t very good. I was just kind of “eh,” you know? And that’s just not cool. The other thing was that towards the end of the season, life got really really hectic, so there were days that I was just plain too pooped to party. And I decided to let that be okay. I didn’t want to slide back into having days of sitting down there just staring at everything with my brain all mushy. That’s just silly, and a waste of perfectly good veg time, which I was clearly needing. 

Probably the best thing that came out of this whole thing, though, was finishing a bracelet I started a while ago. Remember this one?:Image

 

I made a few slight changes, and it’s much better now! I’m really happy. I love how the resin piece turned out, and I love it with the leather. I don’t have a picture of it fixed yet, but I will soon. So keep an eye on Facebook and Etsy

Thanks for reading, oh ye few. 😉 I appreciate you, every one. =D 

 

Leave a Reply

