A Valiant Effort

I made a large focal piece with resin a couple of months ago.  I absolutely love it.  It’s one of the things that I want to use “just right” and not waste on something that is just okay.

Image

I decided to add it to a bracelet blank, thinking how amazing it would be as a big, chunky, awesome bracelet.  And of course, leather is just the thing to use with it.  Hello… cowboy/girl theme.  It seemed pretty obvious to me.  The thing is… I have never worked with leather.  But I figured I might as well give it a go.  I’ve heard that it’s relatively simple to learn to do, and I’m feeling pretty bold these days.  So I gathered the tools I had, plus a couple I went and bought (I’ve been meaning to try leather work, but hadn’t gotten up the courage yet)  I watched a couple short little videos, too, just to make sure what I was picturing in my head was what I actually needed to do.  My head is not always accurate… but this time I was pretty spot on.  I’m glad I watched the process though.  It never hurts to be more prepared, right Boy Scouts?

So here’s what came of it:

Image
Here it is laid out flat.
Image
Here it is snapped together.

It sure looks better snapped together, doesn’t it?

I’m not really very happy with the final result.  It’s a little small, and it just doesn’t quite lay right, and something just seems off about it.  I’m disappointed, but at the same time I am glad it gave me a reason to bust out my snaps and rivets and give a new form of jewelry creation a try.  I’ll take it apart, though maybe not for a couple of weeks, or until I come up with an alternative… (I’m weak when it comes to taking things apart, no matter how awful they are.)
At least no damage was done to the focal piece.  I seriously love this thing.  
Image
Here it is again. Because it’s fabulous.

You can take the girl out of Montana, but you can’t take Montana out of the girl.

Yee-haw.

Leave a Reply

